Dienstag, 26. Januar 2010

2010 Goldschmidt Conference: 03d: New and Old Paradigms on the Origin and Evolution of Continental Lithosphere

The 2010 Goldschmidt Conference will be held in Knoxville, Tennessee, June 13th-18th 2010.
We would like to invite you to contribute to the session:

03d: New and Old Paradigms on the Origin and Evolution of Continental Lithosphere

The deadline for abstract submission is Sunday 21st February 2010.

Keynote: Rick Carlson (DTM, Carnegie Inst. of Washington)

Session description:
Incredible advances in our understanding of the composition and structure of continental lithosphere have been made over the last several decades. However, a number of outstanding issues remain unresolved. Intrinsic chemical buoyancy and strength are thought to help preserve continental lithospheres over the long term, but the exact mechanisms are still unknown. In addition, there is growing evidence that refertilization and deformation are important in the compositional evolution of continental lithospheric mantle – and its ultimate demise - so what are their effects on the dynamics and physical properties of the lithosphere? Can our models for the origin and evolution of the deep continental lithosphere be reconciled with the geology and petrology of the continental mantle(and vice versa)? Finally, how well do we even know the petrologic structure and chemical composition of the lithosphere as inferred from magma-borne mantle fragments, given recent suggestions that they sample an unrepresentative mantle region? The purpose of this session is to discuss current paradigms and future directions and we encourage perologists, geochemists, geodynamicists, geophysicists, field geologists and beyond to participate in teasing out the lithosphere’s enduring secrets.

For additional information:

On behalf of the convenors
Sonja Aulbach, Veronique Le Roux, Nina Simon, Cin-Ty Lee
Kommentar veröffentlichen
Research Blogging Awards 2010 Winner!
Creative Commons License
Amphibol Weblog von Gunnar Ries steht unter einer Creative Commons Namensnennung-Keine kommerzielle Nutzung-Weitergabe unter gleichen Bedingungen 3.0 Unported Lizenz.